Keep passwords with pwsafe

Password Safe, or pwsafe, is a free, open source, password database application that’s perfect for maintaining and using individual or small group password lists.


Binary installers are available for both Windows and Linux (the former in both .exe and .msi format, the latter as .deb and .rpm packages, as well as zip or .tar.gz). There is also a cross-platform fork written in Java called jpwsafe.

Mike McKenzie did a nice video tutorial on Password Safe a few years ago. While you’re looking at it check out this video from Mozilla on creating secure passwords.

Note: When launching pwsafe for the first time on Linux be sure to do so with this command line syntax:

pwsafe --createdb

Also note that the latest package for Fedora is a bit old. To get the latest download from the Password Safe project web site instead.

This entry was posted in System Administration on by .

About phil

My name is Phil Lembo. In my day job I’m an enterprise IT architect for a leading distribution and services company. The rest of my time I try to maintain a semi-normal family life in the suburbs of Raleigh, NC. E-mail me at philipATlembobrothersDOTcom. The opinions expressed here are entirely my own and not those of my employers, past, present or future (except where I quote others, who will need to accept responsibility for their own rants).