Openfire configuration dump

Openfire is an advanced XMPP server written in Java. It uses a MySQL database backend but can also be configured to use an LDAP server for its user accounts. Since its configuration is stored in MySQL, being able to get a text dump of it can be useful.

Log into the MySQL server as a user with at least read privileges on the database using the mysql client and use the “INTO OUTFILE” method to dump the config to text. The table containing the system configuration is named “ofProperty”. In the example below my Openfire server db is called “openfire” (very creative, eh?).

mysql> use openfire;
Database changed
mysql> SELECT * INTO OUTFILE "/tmp/of-cfg.txt"
    -> FIELDS TERMINATED BY '\t'
    -> LINES TERMINATED BY '\n'
    -> FROM ofProperty;

This will print the contents of the ofProperty table to a passably formatted text file.

Something nice to have when the auditors ask.

This entry was posted in Directory, Identity Management on by .

About phil

My name is Phil Lembo. In my day job I’m an enterprise IT architect for a leading distribution and services company. The rest of my time I try to maintain a semi-normal family life in the suburbs of Raleigh, NC. E-mail me at philipATlembobrothersDOTcom. The opinions expressed here are entirely my own and not those of my employers, past, present or future (except where I quote others, who will need to accept responsibility for their own rants).