Why was my msi saved as a man?

User downloads an .msi install file from one of my Linux web servers using Internet Explorer and discovers it saved as a .man file. What’s up?

What’s up is that .msi is not included in the standard MIME types loaded for the typical Apache web server on Linux.

What needs to be there is

application/octet-stream msi

Since octet-stream is already listed, I just added msi to the list in /etc/mime.types:

application/octet-stream bin lha lzh exe class so dll img iso msi

Article about this on Microsoft Answers.

This entry was posted in System Administration on by .

About phil

My name is Phil Lembo. In my day job I’m an enterprise IT architect for a leading distribution and services company. The rest of my time I try to maintain a semi-normal family life in the suburbs of Raleigh, NC. E-mail me at philipATlembobrothersDOTcom. The opinions expressed here are entirely my own and not those of my employers, past, present or future (except where I quote others, who will need to accept responsibility for their own rants).