More nmap fun

There can never too many articles with good nmap examples.

Many thanks to Anish Shaikh for compiling his A Simple Guide to Nmap Usage.

Looking to see if the ports needed to communicate with an Oracle Enteprise Management server can be reached from the target host:

nmap -sT -P0 -p 4889-4897,1159,4898-4908 grid.example.com

Check to make sure the EM agent on the target can be reached from the management server:

nmap -sT -P0 -p 3872,1830-1849 target.example.com

Note: Diagram (for v10g) showing ports used by Oracle’s Entprise Managment can be found here.

This entry was posted in System Administration on by .

About phil

My name is Phil Lembo. In my day job I’m an enterprise IT architect for a leading distribution and services company. The rest of my time I try to maintain a semi-normal family life in the suburbs of Raleigh, NC. E-mail me at philipATlembobrothersDOTcom. The opinions expressed here are entirely my own and not those of my employers, past, present or future (except where I quote others, who will need to accept responsibility for their own rants).