In praise of UTF-8

Another sideways take on things system related up on The Register, Down with Unicode! Why 16 bits per character is a right pain in the ASCII: We were sold a lie. It’s time to go back to 8-bit.

Or just proof that great minds think alike. The article actually has a subversive purpose (shocking, I know), to bang the drum for this most excellent manifesto, UTF-8 Everywhere. From the opening paragraph:

1 Purpose of this document

To promote usage and support of the UTF-8 encoding, to convince that this should be the default choice of encoding for storing text strings in memory or on disk, for communication and all other uses. We believe that all other encodings of Unicode (or text, in general) belong to rare edge-cases of optimization and should be avoided by mainstream users.

Amen.

This entry was posted in Editorial, Systems Analysis on by .

About phil

My name is Phil Lembo. In my day job I’m an enterprise IT architect for a leading distribution and services company. The rest of my time I try to maintain a semi-normal family life in the suburbs of Raleigh, NC. E-mail me at philipATlembobrothersDOTcom. The opinions expressed here are entirely my own and not those of my employers, past, present or future (except where I quote others, who will need to accept responsibility for their own rants).