Comet ISON on the way

Adam Block of the UA Science SkyCenter uploaded this photo of comet ISON taken on 8 October of this year. Really spectacular.

ison_adam_block

ISON is hurtling towards its closest approach to the Sun on November 28. Given this latest image there are some who have opined it may just be a sight to see.

But given that the onset of the wintry/really really cloudy season here in NC there’s a good chance the skies above won’t provide me much of an opportunity to see it. That’s the amusing but sad thought in a comment by a Register reader, who writes:

Or, considering it’s going to be late November/ early December, it will be magnificent, but we Brits will have 14 days of complete cloud cover and miss it all

This entry was posted in Editorial on by .

About phil

My name is Phil Lembo. In my day job I’m an enterprise IT architect for a leading distribution and services company. The rest of my time I try to maintain a semi-normal family life in the suburbs of Raleigh, NC. E-mail me at philipATlembobrothersDOTcom. The opinions expressed here are entirely my own and not those of my employers, past, present or future (except where I quote others, who will need to accept responsibility for their own rants).