missing option to create folders in windows 7

One of my boys got infected by some pretty nasty malware this week while I was away on a business trip to Denver. One of the negative side-effects of their removal was that Windows Explorer’s “New Folder” button stopped working. Fix below.

When I found this post in a Windows 7 IT Pro Forum by Linda Yan, and was able to examine the regedit fix file she provides, I knew right away that this was something I needed to post.

Linda’s solution involves resetting 16 registry keys under HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT/Folder back to their defaults. Go to the post linked above to find a link to Linda’s SkyDrive, where you can download the folderfix.zip that contains the folderfix.reg file.

This entry was posted in System Administration on by .

About phil

My name is Phil Lembo. In my day job I’m an enterprise IT architect for a leading distribution and services company. The rest of my time I try to maintain a semi-normal family life in the suburbs of Raleigh, NC. E-mail me at philipATlembobrothersDOTcom. The opinions expressed here are entirely my own and not those of my employers, past, present or future (except where I quote others, who will need to accept responsibility for their own rants).