TigerVNC fail on RHEL 6.3+

Ugly error message after installing and then trying to run tigervnc-server on RHEL 6.3, don’t panic! All you need is to add some prereq packages that didn’t make it into the tigervnc manifest.

[user@example ~]$ vncserver

WARNING: The first attempt to start Xvnc failed, possibly because the font
catalog is not properly configured.  Attempting to determine an appropriate
font path for this system and restart Xvnc using that font path ...
Could not start Xvnc.

/usr/bin/Xvnc: symbol lookup error: /usr/bin/Xvnc: undefined symbol: pixman_composite_trapezoids
/usr/bin/Xvnc: symbol lookup error: /usr/bin/Xvnc: undefined symbol: pixman_composite_trapezoids

Fixed by installing the following packages:

libXfont
pixman
pixman-devel

So there you go. Crisis averted.

Thanks to the enigmatic zrowland for this solution, found here.

This entry was posted in System Administration on by .

About phil

My name is Phil Lembo. In my day job I’m an enterprise IT architect for a leading distribution and services company. The rest of my time I try to maintain a semi-normal family life in the suburbs of Raleigh, NC. E-mail me at philipATlembobrothersDOTcom. The opinions expressed here are entirely my own and not those of my employers, past, present or future (except where I quote others, who will need to accept responsibility for their own rants).