MySQL server default configuration

Command to use in order to see the default values for a mysql/mariadb server.

On RHEL and RHEL-inspired distributions, right up to Fedora 19:

/usr/libexec/mysqld --verbose --help

It’s all pretty much listed there for you. Very helpful for deciding what to clutter your /etc/my.cnf with and as a sanity check against suggestions found in various places on the web.

Do this and you’ve got yourself a quick-reference guide:

/usr/libexec/mysqld --verbose --help >mysql-manual.txt
This entry was posted in System Administration on by .

About phil

My name is Phil Lembo. In my day job I’m an enterprise IT architect for a leading distribution and services company. The rest of my time I try to maintain a semi-normal family life in the suburbs of Raleigh, NC. E-mail me at philipATlembobrothersDOTcom. The opinions expressed here are entirely my own and not those of my employers, past, present or future (except where I quote others, who will need to accept responsibility for their own rants).