Things not to do on Openfire

This will be a continuing list of things NOT to do while managing Openfire.

Thing number:

1. While running with a Hazelcast cluster, do not ever flush the Client Session Info Cache on one or more (or all) of your server nodes, no matter how badly the gui shows it is overflowing. The cluster will lose its mind and you’ll then need to do a hard recycle of Openfire on all nodes.

This entry was posted in System Administration on by .

About phil

My name is Phil Lembo. In my day job I’m an enterprise IT architect for a leading distribution and services company. The rest of my time I try to maintain a semi-normal family life in the suburbs of Raleigh, NC. E-mail me at philipATlembobrothersDOTcom. The opinions expressed here are entirely my own and not those of my employers, past, present or future (except where I quote others, who will need to accept responsibility for their own rants).