Learning js

That’s javascript, or ECMAScript (pronounced “ek-mah-script”, per Doug Crockford), not java server pages. Resource list follows.

My first Christmas week off from work in a couple of decades, I’ve decided to take some time and really master javascript in preparation for an upcoming project. The real goal is to ultimately get a handle on node.js to do some useful stuff with it.

My (growing) learning resource list:

JavaScript

Eloquent JavaScript

Douglas Crockford’s JavaScript page.

Crockford, JavaScript: The Good Parts (book)

Crockford videos in order

Learn JavaScript (Mozilla Developer Network) resource page

JavaScript Tutorial (w3schools.com)

Node.js:

Felix’s Node.js Beginner’s Guide

Introduction to Node.js with Ryan Dahl

Misc

A couple of interesting videos of a more philosophical bent:

JavaScript: Your New Overlord

Angelina Fabbro: JavaScript Masterclass

This entry was posted in Development on by .

About phil

My name is Phil Lembo. In my day job I’m an enterprise IT architect for a leading distribution and services company. The rest of my time I try to maintain a semi-normal family life in the suburbs of Raleigh, NC. E-mail me at philipATlembobrothersDOTcom. The opinions expressed here are entirely my own and not those of my employers, past, present or future (except where I quote others, who will need to accept responsibility for their own rants).