Which Linux is this?

Linux is available in a dizzying array of distributions, each with their own versioning scheme. Most allow you to use the lsb_release tool to accurately identify the publisher and release version.

This is what the output of lsb_release looks like on Fedora 19:

[root@test1 ~]# lsb_release -ir
Distributor ID:	Fedora
Release:	19

Here’s what you’d see on Red Hat Enterprise 6.5:

[root@test2 ~]$ lsb_release -ir
Distributor ID:	RedHatEnterpriseServer
Release:	6.5

See the man page for more.

This entry was posted in System Administration on by .

About phil

My name is Phil Lembo. In my day job I’m an enterprise IT architect for a leading distribution and services company. The rest of my time I try to maintain a semi-normal family life in the suburbs of Raleigh, NC. E-mail me at philipATlembobrothersDOTcom. The opinions expressed here are entirely my own and not those of my employers, past, present or future (except where I quote others, who will need to accept responsibility for their own rants).