Chromium on Fedora 19

Courtesy of the Fedora Project’s copr, I present to you the Chromium web browser from Russian Fedora (the link is to the .repo files for Fedora 19, 20 and rawhide).

Google’s official Chrome browser is just too spywary for me, but has been a necessary tool for UI testing web applications.

Now that I’ve got a stable, tested, build of open source Chromium installed I can get my work done without worrying about whether my browsing sessions are being hoovered up by the search giant.

Commands to add the repo to Fedora 19 and 20:

yum-config-manager --add-repo=http://copr.fedoraproject.org/coprs/churchyard/chromium-russianfedora-tested/repo/fedora-19-i386/churchyard-chromium-russianfedora-tested-fedora-19-i386.repo
yum-config-manager --add-repo=http://copr.fedoraproject.org/coprs/churchyard/chromium-russianfedora-tested/repo/fedora-20-i386/churchyard-chromium-russianfedora-tested-fedora-20-i386.repo
This entry was posted in Security, System Administration, Web on by .

About phil

My name is Phil Lembo. In my day job I’m an enterprise IT architect for a leading distribution and services company. The rest of my time I try to maintain a semi-normal family life in the suburbs of Raleigh, NC. E-mail me at philipATlembobrothersDOTcom. The opinions expressed here are entirely my own and not those of my employers, past, present or future (except where I quote others, who will need to accept responsibility for their own rants).