Chromium for Windows

By popular demand, here in the link to installers for Chromium on Windows:

Download latest stable Chromium binaries

While Google explicitly does not support the Chromium web browser, they have in the past indicated that developers might find it useful. I like to run it on both my work and personal machines rather than the consumer edition of Chrome because (a) it is completely open source and (b) I believe it is more privacy-friendly.

These developer builds are in both 32 and 64 bits[1].

The 32-bit versions of these binaries are recommended over 64-bit as more stable[2].

Also keep in mind that, as far as I know, there are no 64-bit Windows versions of popular plugins like Adobe Flash or Acrobat Reader[3].

[1] Mozilla also generates a 64-bit nightly build of Firefox for Windows. Neither Google nor Mozilla have ever shipped a general release of these Windows products in 64-bit. See this article for an update from a Mozilla spokesperson.

[2] See this extended comment for more.

[3] It took Adobe over three years to release a 64-bit version of Flash for Linux, once they got serious about it. The long, difficult, saga of that effort is preserved in the PenguinSWF blog.

This entry was posted in System Administration, Web on by .

About phil

My name is Phil Lembo. In my day job I’m an enterprise IT architect for a leading distribution and services company. The rest of my time I try to maintain a semi-normal family life in the suburbs of Raleigh, NC. E-mail me at philipATlembobrothersDOTcom. The opinions expressed here are entirely my own and not those of my employers, past, present or future (except where I quote others, who will need to accept responsibility for their own rants).