Decibel audio player and other simplicities

My Linux desktop at home has lots of applications installed on it because, well, I like gadgets. In my private life. Work is a different matter.

This post was inspired by my forgetting what the title app was called. Now I have somewhere to look when I forget again.

At work I really don’t need, or want, photo gallery managers and Internet radio players. Because my company uses a newer version of MS Exchange, I also won’t be reading my corporate e-mail on Linux (Evolution hasn’t been any good at interoperating with Exchange since at best, 2003).

So right away I have to rip out shotwell, rhythmbox and evolution.

For a simple audio app to replace rhythmbox I like the decibel audio player.

As an alternative to shotwell, I’ve found that the venerable gthumb viewer does a fine job.

Corporate mail? Well, that’s why I keep Windows on my company laptop.

This entry was posted in System Administration on by .

About phil

My name is Phil Lembo. In my day job I’m an enterprise IT architect for a leading distribution and services company. The rest of my time I try to maintain a semi-normal family life in the suburbs of Raleigh, NC. E-mail me at philipATlembobrothersDOTcom. The opinions expressed here are entirely my own and not those of my employers, past, present or future (except where I quote others, who will need to accept responsibility for their own rants).