Google Chrome, Fedora, yum

Needed to remind myself how to do this, and it occurred to me I should post on it.

I’ve bounced back and forth between Chromium and Chrome for awhile. Although I like the idea of a completely open source Chromium, as a user (and sometime developer) Google’s release version of Chrome is just more useful to me.

Thanks to JR for his Install Google Chrome on Fedora 20/19, CentOS/RHEL 7 that describes the steps below.

1. Create the file /etc/yum.repos.d/google-chrome.repo:

[google-chrome]
name=google-chrome - \$basearch
baseurl=http://dl.google.com/linux/chrome/rpm/stable/\$basearch
enabled=1
gpgcheck=1
gpgkey=https://dl-ssl.google.com/linux/linux_signing_key.pub

2. Install using yum:

yum install chrome-browser-stable

(be sure to answer “Y” when prompted to accept Google’s GPG key)

This entry was posted in Development, System Administration on by .

About phil

My name is Phil Lembo. In my day job I’m an enterprise IT architect for a leading distribution and services company. The rest of my time I try to maintain a semi-normal family life in the suburbs of Raleigh, NC. E-mail me at philipATlembobrothersDOTcom. The opinions expressed here are entirely my own and not those of my employers, past, present or future (except where I quote others, who will need to accept responsibility for their own rants).