getting run over by d-bus

D-bus seemed like such a good idea when it was first proposed, and it was. But even things intended for good can turn to evil.

Was in a remote vnc session on my FreeBSD server when Firefox abended with a bunch of ugly error messages, including:

D-Bus library appears to be incorrectly set up; failed to read machine uuid: Failed to open “/etc/machine-id”: No such file or directory

There were lots of other red herrings in there, but the above turned out to be the actual problem.

The solution?

dbus-uuidgen > /etc/machine-id

Nothing is easy any more. Nothing.

Thanks to the Graham Bucknell (who has my dream job working in a research lab) for the article that set me straight.

This entry was posted in System Administration on by .

About phil

My name is Phil Lembo. In my day job I’m an enterprise IT architect for a leading distribution and services company. The rest of my time I try to maintain a semi-normal family life in the suburbs of Raleigh, NC. E-mail me at philipATlembobrothersDOTcom. The opinions expressed here are entirely my own and not those of my employers, past, present or future (except where I quote others, who will need to accept responsibility for their own rants).