Restoring menu icons in the Gnome Shell

Sometime right before I upgraded to Fedora 21 all my menu icons disappeared. This was most noticeable in Firefox, where the bookmark folder icons were replaced by sterile white space. A solution follows.

I had to rummage around to find this earlier post (based on this original forum thread by someone a lot smarter than me) for the fix.

gsettings set org.gnome.settings-daemon.plugins.xsettings overrides "{'Gtk/ButtonImages': <1>, 'Gtk/MenuImages': <1>}"

This kludge takes the place of the old dconf property “menus-have-icons” that was removed by upstream a few versions ago. This has to be done for each user individually, it can’t be applied once to the system and made effective for everyone by default. My guess is that we’re on borrowed time with this particular option, and I wouldn’t be surprised if it isn’t removed in an upcoming release.

This entry was posted in System Administration, Systems Analysis on by .

About phil

My name is Phil Lembo. In my day job I’m an enterprise IT architect for a leading distribution and services company. The rest of my time I try to maintain a semi-normal family life in the suburbs of Raleigh, NC. E-mail me at philipATlembobrothersDOTcom. The opinions expressed here are entirely my own and not those of my employers, past, present or future (except where I quote others, who will need to accept responsibility for their own rants).