PDF preview in LyX on Fedora 21

LyX, an open source document processor front-end for LaTeX, is a powerful writing tool. On Fedora 21 the pdf preview feature needs a couple of extra packages to function.

Installing LyX and its supporting software is just a “yum install lyx” away. Although lots of LaTex “texlive” packages are loaded as dependencies, there are two needed by the pdf preview feature that still need to be installed:

texlive-esint
texlive-esint-type1
texlive-nomencl

Note: The errors I got when I tried using the pdf preview before installing the above rpms were:

LaTeX Error: File `esint.sty’ not found
LaTeX Error: File `nomenclsty’ not found

This entry was posted in Development, System Administration on by .

About phil

My name is Phil Lembo. In my day job I’m an enterprise IT architect for a leading distribution and services company. The rest of my time I try to maintain a semi-normal family life in the suburbs of Raleigh, NC. E-mail me at philipATlembobrothersDOTcom. The opinions expressed here are entirely my own and not those of my employers, past, present or future (except where I quote others, who will need to accept responsibility for their own rants).