Approaching Ceres

NASA’s Dawn spacecraft is scheduled to go into orbit around Ceres tomorrow, meaning that we’re soon going to get a close look at the mysterious bright spots that have been observed inside one of the minor planet’s craters.

Terrific picture taken a few days ago with the bright spots almost dead center:

Ceres on 2/19/2015

Ceres from Dawn on 2/19/2015.

An even better view is provided by a high res animated gif showing Ceres rotating on its axis, here.

This entry was posted in System Administration on by .

About phil

My name is Phil Lembo. In my day job I’m an enterprise IT architect for a leading distribution and services company. The rest of my time I try to maintain a semi-normal family life in the suburbs of Raleigh, NC. E-mail me at philipATlembobrothersDOTcom. The opinions expressed here are entirely my own and not those of my employers, past, present or future (except where I quote others, who will need to accept responsibility for their own rants).