One less nag screen

When logging in with a normal (non-privileged) user an annoying login dialog kept popping up:

“Authentication required to set the Network Proxy used for downloading packages”

There are some Red Hat Bugzilla entries for this problem, but none of them are at all helpful. One, in fact, was downright obnoxious.

But that latter bug report did at least help me narrow the problem down to a PackageKit driven process connected to the Gnome Software Center, perhaps the most useless feature in Gnome.

Whenever a useless piece of software gets annoying, I make it gone.

This case was no exception: “yum remove PackageKit”.

That’s all there is to it. Cheers.

This entry was posted in System Administration, Systems Analysis on by .

About phil

My name is Phil Lembo. In my day job I’m an enterprise IT architect for a leading distribution and services company. The rest of my time I try to maintain a semi-normal family life in the suburbs of Raleigh, NC. E-mail me at philipATlembobrothersDOTcom. The opinions expressed here are entirely my own and not those of my employers, past, present or future (except where I quote others, who will need to accept responsibility for their own rants).