WordPress database cleanup

Specifically, getting rid of orphaned tables and options after a plugin has been removed.

My two top candidates aren’t much to look at, and (at least to date) don’t include nag screens or adware:

Clean Options, according to its page on WordPress.org “hasn’t been updated in over 2 years. It may no longer be maintained or supported and may have compatibility issues when used with more recent versions of WordPress”, but it allowed me to clean up some leftover options on a WordPress 4.3.1 site.

Plugins Garbage Collector finds orphaned tables and lets you nuke them.

WP Optimize doesn’t address orphaned options or tables, but does display database statistics and includes routines to remove stale data, metadata, transient options, spam comments and other stuff that takes up unnecessary space and cycles.

This entry was posted in System Administration on by .

About phil

My name is Phil Lembo. In my day job I’m an enterprise IT architect for a leading distribution and services company. The rest of my time I try to maintain a semi-normal family life in the suburbs of Raleigh, NC. E-mail me at philipATlembobrothersDOTcom. The opinions expressed here are entirely my own and not those of my employers, past, present or future (except where I quote others, who will need to accept responsibility for their own rants).