Disabling or re-Enabling the Gnome 3 user list in Fedora 22

Yet another variation on the long search for a way to hide my system’s user list from casual crackers who might get access to the device.

All previous posts on the topic of disabling or re-enabling Gnome 3’s login screen’s user list are obsolete as of Fedora 22.

The Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7 Desktop Migration and Administration Guide addresses this here.

Those instructions are mildly incomplete, at least for Fedora 22. Here is the complete recipe:

1. Create /etc/dconf/profile/gdm with the following contents:

user-db:user
system-db:gdm
file-db:/usr/share/gdm/greeter-dconf-defaults

2. Create /etc/dconf/db/gdm.d/00-login-screen with these contents:

[org/gnome/login-screen]

disable-user-list=true

3. This is important: Delete /etc/dconf/db/gdm.

4. As root run “dconf update”.

5. Restart gdm with “systemctl restart gdm”.

To reverse the effect edit 00-login-screen and replace “true” with “false” and then repeat steps 3, 4 and 5.

If you take these steps and the changes have no effect, try rebooting.

Should that not do it, su to root and delete /var/lib/gdm/.config/dconf/user.

This entry was posted in System Administration on by .

About phil

My name is Phil Lembo. In my day job I’m an enterprise IT architect for a leading distribution and services company. The rest of my time I try to maintain a semi-normal family life in the suburbs of Raleigh, NC. E-mail me at philipATlembobrothersDOTcom. The opinions expressed here are entirely my own and not those of my employers, past, present or future (except where I quote others, who will need to accept responsibility for their own rants).