Visual Studio Code on Fedora 22

So yeah. I’m giving Microsoft’s free and open source Visual Studio Code for Linux a try. And you know what? It’s actually pretty good. In fact, it might, might be better than Github’s Atom.

The zip distribution for Visual Studio Code currently weighs in at 62 MB. Installing is as easy as unzipping and moving the folder someplace sensible. In my case the VSCode-linux64 folder got moves to /opt/VSCode.

No .desktop file for use with the Gnome desktop environment comes with the distribution. A softlink from /opt/VSCode/Code (“Code” is the executable) to /usr/local/bin/vscode can get you going, of course. But having a nice menu item with an icon is better.

The icon was the easy part. There’s a vscode.png icon under resources/app/resources/linux that’s perfect for the job, which I copied to the root of the /opt/VSCode folder to make it easier to find.

My VSCode.desktop file for placement in the usual place (on Fedora that’s /usr/share/applications) looks like this:

[Desktop Entry]
Name=Visual Studio Code
GenericName=Code Editor
Comment=Create and edit your source code
Exec=/opt/VSCode/Code
Terminal=false
Type=Application
Icon=/opt/VSCode/vscode.png
Categories=Development;
StartupNotify=false

Code’s interface is very intuitive. Unlike others (I’m looking at you, Gnome Project developers), Microsoft seems to understand the value of a fully functional menu bar at the top of the application window, so it’s easy to find the options you’re looking for. Performance is very snappy compared to Atom, both in starting up and navigating through large code files. What it will do when it’s pointed at a humongous xml data file is anyone’s guess at this point (Atom usually just crashes).

I’m going to do a full immersion test of Code over the next few weeks, both on Linux and Windows, and then either update this post or do a new “Living with Code” post in future.

This entry was posted in Development on by .

About phil

My name is Phil Lembo. In my day job I’m an enterprise IT architect for a leading distribution and services company. The rest of my time I try to maintain a semi-normal family life in the suburbs of Raleigh, NC. E-mail me at philipATlembobrothersDOTcom. The opinions expressed here are entirely my own and not those of my employers, past, present or future (except where I quote others, who will need to accept responsibility for their own rants).