Loose Connection

Had a frustrating few this morning trying to figure out why I wasn’t connected to the company VPN.

After some fumbling around discovered that the patch cord between my work laptop and the desktop switch had wiggled its way out of the RJ-45 connector on the laptop. Yeah, it’s an old cord and the male end of the connector doesn’t have the spring it did in youth.

Something I learned the hard way in my second year as an IT consultant:

Always check the physical layer first

And people wonder why I hate hardware.

Another item for the shopping list when I get around to the local computer store next.

This entry was posted in System Administration on by .

About phil

My name is Phil Lembo. In my day job I’m an enterprise IT architect for a leading distribution and services company. The rest of my time I try to maintain a semi-normal family life in the suburbs of Raleigh, NC. E-mail me at philipATlembobrothersDOTcom. The opinions expressed here are entirely my own and not those of my employers, past, present or future (except where I quote others, who will need to accept responsibility for their own rants).