Sublime tweaks

Not really tweaks, just basic config for me. Tab stops at 4 spaces is fine, but definitely set translate_tabs_to_spaces to true if other editors like vi are going to be working with your files.

Also, fonts. Yeah, the third rail of text editor controversy.


"font_face": "DejaVu Sans Mono"
"font_size": 13,

I tried 12, it was just too small for these ancient eyes (the default of 10 is ridiculous, who came up with that?). 14 was great, but required me to go full screen on a 20″ square monitor (real sysadmins use square monitors). So 13 was a compromise that I can live with.

And year, Sublime is fast, Really fast. Leaves Atom, and even VS Code, in the dust.

This entry was posted in System Administration on by .

About phil

My name is Phil Lembo. In my day job I’m an enterprise IT architect for a leading distribution and services company. The rest of my time I try to maintain a semi-normal family life in the suburbs of Raleigh, NC. E-mail me at philipATlembobrothersDOTcom. The opinions expressed here are entirely my own and not those of my employers, past, present or future (except where I quote others, who will need to accept responsibility for their own rants).